District Council of
Karoonda East Murray


Bushfire Prevention

The Mallee Bushfire Prevention District consists of the Karoonda East Murray and Southern Mallee Councils with a combined area of 10,099 Square Kilometres. The district adjoins the Victorian Border in the east and is bordered by the Loxton Waikerie Council in the North, Mid Murray Council and Rural City Murray Bridge in the west and the Tatiara and Coorong District Councils to the south.

It includes the townships of Borrika, Copeville, Geranium, Halidon, Karte, Karoonda, Lameroo, Mantung, Mindarie, Parrakie, Parilla, Pinnaroo, Wanbi, Wilkawatt and Wynarka and those towns in between. Total population is approximately; 3600.

The aims of the Committee are;

  • To protect and reduce the impact of bushfires on property throughout the Mallee Bushfire District.

  • To provide community bushfire protection whilst ensuring that proper land management principles are taken into account.

  • To minimize damage to the environment.
The 2016-2017 FIRE DANGER SEASON commences on the 15th  November 2016, and finishes on the 15th April 2017, both dates inclusive.

Subject to the Fire and Emergency Services Act 2005, an authorised person may issue a permit for burning off during the conditional period of the Fire Danger Season 15th February to 15th April.

Burning Off

The Fire Information Circular sets out in more detail the responsibilities of landowners during the Fire Danger Season.

11 Railway Terrace

PO Box 58

Karoonda SA 5307

Tel: 08 8578 1004

Fax: 08 8578 1246

Email: council@dckem.sa.gov.au

@ District Council Karoonda Murray East. All rights reserved
Contact Us|Disclaimer|Privacy|Site Map|Credits